Boy Scout Troop 538 is located in picturesque Durango, Colorado on the western edge of the San Juan Mountains and the eastern edge of the great southwest desert country.  The troop is sponsored by Christ the King Lutheran Church, and meetings are held on most Mondays from 6:30 to 8:00 pm in the Fellowship Hall.  The troop has been chartered with Boy Scouts of America since 1990 and is in the Mesa Verde District of the Great Southwest Council, headquartered in Albuquerque, NM.  Our council is represented by the Yah-Tah-Hey-Si-Kess Lodge of the Order of the Arrow(OA),  and our troop nominates select members to the Ute Chapter of the OA.  Our council camp is located southeast of Chimayo, NM.

Our troop strongly subscribes to the “The Aims of Scouting” – to build character, to foster citizenship, and to develop fitness.  Our philosophy is to provide scouts Fun with Purpose.  We do that by monthly outings, community service, and by living the Scout Ideals of the Scout Slogan, Scout Motto, Scout Oath, and Scout Law.  Our setting in Durango, with close proximity to both mountain and desert environments, offers unique opportunities for outings in support of our philosophy.

While we are a fairly small Boy Scout troop, our ratio of leaders to scouts is quite high.  We conduct annual Junior Leader training and strive to insure our Patrol Leaders’ Council has the resources needed to deliver a quality scouting program to each scout.

Youth Leaders 

Senior Patrol Leader: Rhys M.
Assistant Senior Patrol Leader: Ian M.

Patrol Leader – Fire Hogs: Wyatt M.
Assistant Patrol Leader – Fire Hogs: Ian H.
Patrol Leader – Titans: Lucas S.
Assistant Patrol Leader – Titans: Thomas F.
Patrol Leader – Midnight Panthers: None
Assistant Patrol Leader – Midnight Panthers: None

Webmaster: Lukas A.
Librarian: Roman S.

Scribe: Paul S.
Troop Guide – Titans: Sam C.
Troop Guide – Midnight Panthers: Brandon G.
Historian:  None


Troop 538 was founded in 1990 with John Fugate as Scoutmaster and the Durango Nazarene Church as the Chartered Organization.


2016 to present    Jeff Mason

2014 to 2016        Rocky Gallegos

2008 to 2014        Ken Ouellette

2005 to 2008        Mike Dalenberg

1998 to 2005        Richard Brown

1991 to 1998        Elwin Johnston

1990 to 1991        John Fugate

Chartered Organizations

2000 to present     Christ the King Lutheran

1997 to 2000         Colorado National Guard Armory

1990 to 1997         Nazarene Church

Mission Statement

The mission of the Boy Scouts of America is to prepare young people to make ethical and moral choices over their lifetimes by instilling in them the values of the Scout Oath and Law.

Vision Statement

The Boy Scouts of America will prepare every eligible youth in America to become a responsible, participating citizen and leader who is guided by the Scout Oath and Law.

Journey to Excellence

“Scouting’s Journey to Excellence” is the BSA’s council performance recognition program designed to encourage and reward success and measure the performance of units, districts, and councils.  It is meant to encourage excellence in providing a quality program at all levels of the BSA. Troop 538 has proudly received the Journey to Excellence Gold Award, the highest JTE award level, every year since this award’s 2011 inception. Guidelines and standards of what is considered good performance by the Boy Scouts America include adult training, number of camping opportunities, service hours, finances, and adult and scout involvement.

Eagle’s Nest

The Eagle Scout rank is the highest rank attainable in the Boy Scout program.  Since it’s introduction in 1911, it has been earned by over two million scouts.  Below is a list of all the young men from Troop 538 that have attained Eagle since the troop was started in 1990. Congratulations!

2014   Zachary Zajicek

2014   Chase Pierson

2013   Jared Engleken

2010   Douglas Ponce

2010   Ben Powers

2010   Collin Parker

2009   James Ouellette

2009   Dillon Casto

2008   Lee Dalenberg

2008   Jimmy Dickson

2008   Eric Salvo

2007   Phillip Ouellette

2006   Austin Lillard

2006   Zach Lashley

2006   Anthony Salvo

2006   Drew Dalenberg

2005   Justin Weber

2005   Peter Wolke

2005   Sean Leonard

2005   Joseph Ortega

2005   Matt Dunne

2004   Kirby Beegles

2003   Austin Lashley

2002   Alex Wolke

2001   Chris Leach

1999   Casey Youngflesh

1999   Jared Brown

1998   Ronnie Jeter

1998   Wes Caldwell

1997   Jared Wageman

1997   Ransom Beegles

1997   Stephen Smith

1995   Jared Fugate